Posted by : Deborah Takahashi Thursday, June 14, 2012

Plot Summary:
It's been 264 days since anyone has spoken or touched Juliette. Her parents no longer care for her and she has no one to call friend or someone to love. For 264 days, she spent her time in silence until Adam shows up. Juliette has no idea why this boy would be her new cellmate, but what she cannot help is the way she feels about him. Why would such a beautiful boy be locked up in the same room as her? Furthermore, Juliette cannot explain to him as to why she is there and why he cannot touch her at all. In this story, the Earth has been damaged by global warming where the seasons have ceased as well as the wildlife; everything and anything has been genetically modified so there is no need for birds to fly or for cows to graze. The Earth is a desolate wasteland until the Reestablishment came to the rescue. However, the Reestablishment has decided that since it has done such a wonderful job in restoring peace and sustainability that it has the right to take over. In other words, the entire planet is under the control of the Reestablishment. With each passing day, Juliette longs to go outdoors and to be free. Everyday she dreams of the birds and the fresh air and, to her surprise, Juliette has the chance to make that dream a reality. However, the price she must pay is not only frightening, but absolutely out of the question. The proposition: gain total freedom, but, in return, must provide the Reestablishment with her "talents". For Juliette, she can finally be free; however, she must use her powerful abilities, which could be dangerous.

Critical Evaluation:
Shatter Me is a chilling story of a future that could easily happen if we don't take care of ourselves and our environment. Although Global Warming is one of the back stories of this book, it's a a great representation of Juliette. Juliette has been thrown to the wayside to rot away in a jail and no one cares. Just like this planet, people take it for granted until its too late. Furthermore, because of her ability, Juliette has been treated unfairly, which not only conveys the sudden regression of humanity, but the signs of a failing culture. The relationship between Adam and Juliette is not only beautiful, its based off the fact that neither one of them have any prejudice or predispositions about who they are and why they have been locked away. Despite the fact that they are roommates, Adam provides Juliette with a sense of comfort and hope that she is going to be okay. In fact, Adam not only sees her,  and does not flinch, he actually wants to get to know her as if she matters. All her life, Juliette has been seen and treated as nothing but a monster, which is not only upsetting, but down right cruel. Although readers learn that her "gift" is very mutant-ish, Juliette has been given a choice: use the gift in order to gain her freedom or lean to channel her powers and utilize them to help her find her way out. I will admit the ending was cheesy and Omega 23 is very similar to X-Men University so the sequel should be interesting if one can get past the upcoming mutant/superhero story.

Information about the Author:
According to her website:
She’s 24. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where she drinks too much caffeine and finds the weather to be just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts. SHATTER ME is her first novel. Foreign rights have sold in 22 territories to-date and film rights have been optioned by 20th Century Fox.

Genre:
Teen Dystopian Thriller


Reading Level/Interest:
Grades 9 & up

Books Similar to Shatter Me:
Awards & Recognition:

From Amazon.com
“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance.
I’m envious.
I couldn’t put it down.” (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN )

“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.” (Booklist )

“Mafi combines a psychological opener with an action-adventure denouement in her YA debut. This is a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” (Publishers Weekly )

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books )

“Teens will feel satisfied yet wait impatiently for more.” (School Library Journal )

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Posts | Subscribe to Comments

Adult Books for Teens

Search This Blog

About Me

My Photo
Deborah Takahashi
Pasadena, CA, United States
My name is Deb and I am a Librarian who absolutely loves to read and recommend books to teen and tween readers. In this blog, you will find reviews on a variety resources ranging from books, movies, video games, and much more. Please feel free to leave any feedback, especially book recommendations!
View my complete profile
Powered by Blogger.

Copyright © Kazumi Reads -Black Rock Shooter- Powered by Blogger - Designed by Johanes Djogan